Books I have read: It’s Not About The Bike: My Journey Back to Life

Whilst spending more time on my bike recently, I re-read It’s Not About The Bike: My Journey Back to Life by Lance Armstrong.  Many people who’ve read the book complain that it doesn’t tell you enough about his training regime, or his amazing achievements as an athlete, but I don’t think that is the point of this book.  First and formost this is about his fight for life, and the people who helped him so much during his battle.

A particularly moving part is when Lance is feeling depressed & sorry for himself, and probably in need of a kick in the pants, and the hospital engineers a visit to the children’s cancer ward, where Lance discovers children younger than 10 who were optimistic and determined to beat this thing, and it became a real turning point for him.

I should imagine it is very inspiring for a cancer sufferer (of which I’m extremely thankful I’m not).  This disease is no respector of age, class, creed, money or power, it can & will strike at any time.   Frightening, but Armstrong’s story shows that even those given little chance of survival, as he was (less than 20%), can & do recover.  And what a recovery. The ultimate athlete in the ultimate test of athletic ability.

One thought on “Books I have read: It’s Not About The Bike: My Journey Back to Life

Leave a Reply

